U.S. Department of the Interior Reorganization

In keeping with the President’s March 13, 2017, executive order. The Secretary of the Interior proposes to improve the efficiency, effectiveness, and accountability of the Department of the Interior by reorganizing certain agency functions and bureaus.

Establishment of Unified Regional Boundaries — The Department has established 12 unified Regions for all of Interior’s bureaus except for the Bureau of Indian Affairs, the Office of the Special Trustee for American Indians, and the Bureau of Indian Education.   The Unified Regions provide the framework for the Department’s next 100 years of service.  These Unified Regions, rooted in the best science focused on watersheds and ecosystems, will simplify how the Department is organized.  Presently, the Department has 49 different regions, so the move to the 12 Unified Regions adds clarity and simplicity to the Department’s activities.  For more information, click here.


Many Bureaus, One Mission — See the Department’s slides here.


Interior: Planning for the Next 100 Years — See Secretary Zinke’s video message here.


FAQ— Check out Frequently Asked Questions here.


Feedback — The Department wants to hear from you!  Submit your thoughts via email at reorg@doi.gov, or through their online feedback form.